NBA season ends for 8 teams following Thursday's vote
Nathaniel S. Butler / National Basketball Association / Getty

With Thursday's announcement that the NBA will tentatively resume its season in late July and only 22 of the league's 30 teams will participate, eight organizations are now eliminated from postseason contention.

The season is officially over for the Cleveland Cavaliers, Minnesota Timberwolves, Atlanta Hawks, Detroit Pistons, New York Knicks, Chicago Bulls, Charlotte Hornets, and Golden State Warriors.

The Warriors own a league-worst 15-50 (.231) record, and the five-time reigning Western Conference champions were the only team already eliminated from playoff contention when the NBA suspended play on March 12.

The eliminated organizations all reportedly supported the decision to remain on the sidelines as the league proceeds with the rest of the season. The plan passed a board of governors vote by a tally of 29-1.

The Portland Trail Blazers, who will continue to play for a potential playoff berth, provided the lone dissenting vote.

“While we are disappointed for our team and our fans that our season is coming to an end, we understand and accept the league’s plan to move forward with 22 teams," a statement from Timberwolves president Gersson Rosas reads. "It is important that we be a good teammate not only to the NBA, but to the other 29 teams to support the efforts to complete this season and prepare for next season in a healthy and safe manner."

A joint statement from Cavaliers general manager Koby Altman and head coach J.B. Bickerstaff echoed Rosas' support of league objectives. However, the Cavaliers' brass adds that the franchise had still "greatly desired to be a part of the season’s resumption."

NBA season ends for 8 teams following Thursday's vote
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox