Skip to content

Rolen elected to HOF in 6th year of eligibility

Sporting News Archive / Sporting News / Getty

Scott Rolen has been elected into the Baseball Hall of Fame in his sixth year of eligibility on the Baseball Writers' Association of America ballot after receiving 76.3% of the vote.

Player Vote Percentage
Scott Rolen 76.3%
Todd Helton 72.2%
Billy Wagner 68.1%
Andruw Jones 58.1%
Gary Sheffield 55.0%
Carlos Beltran 46.5%
Jeff Kent 46.5%
Alex Rodriguez 35.7%
Manny Ramirez 33.2%
Omar Vizquel 19.5%
Andy Pettitte 17%
Bobby Abreu 15.4%
Jimmy Rollins 12.9%
Mark Buehrle 10.8%
Francisco Rodriguez 10.8%
Torii Hunter 6.9%

Rolen spent his 17-year career between the Philadelphia Phillies, St. Louis Cardinals, Cincinnati Reds, and Toronto Blue Jays. The eight-time Gold Glove winner is one of the most decorated third basemen in MLB history for his defense, playing 2,033 of his 2,038 career games at the hot corner while hitting 316 homers and collecting 1,287 RBIs.

Rolen is just the 18th third baseman inducted into the Hall of Fame, the fewest of any position.

Helton fell just 11 votes shy of election in his fifth year of eligibility, according to Joel Sherman of the New York Post.

"Obviously, I'm disappointed. But I can't control it," Helton said, according to the Denver Post's Patrick Saunders. "I'm just thankful for the people who voted for me."

Meanwhile, 2000 National League MVP Jeff Kent failed to gain induction in his 10th and final year on the ballot, earning 46.5% of the vote. Kent will be eligible for the contemporary era committee for the first time in 2026.

Players falling off ballot

Player Vote Percentage
Bronson Arroyo 0.3%
R.A. Dickey 0.3%
John Lackey 0.3%
Mike Napoli 0.3%
Huston Street 0.3%
Matt Cain 0.0%
Jacoby Ellsbury 0.0%
Andre Ethier 0.0%
J.J. Hardy 0.0%
Jhonny Peralta 0.0%
Jered Weaver 0.0%
Jayson Werth 0.0%

The 2023 induction ceremony is scheduled for July 21-23 in Cooperstown, New York. Rolen will join Fred McGriff, who was unanimously selected by the contemporary era committee in December. Chicago Cubs radio broadcaster Pat Hughes will also be honored as this year's recipient of the Ford C. Frick Award.

Daily Newsletter

Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox