Brind'Amour, Evason, Quenneville up for Jack Adams Award

Jared C. Tilton / Getty Images Sport / Getty

The Carolina Hurricanes' Rod Brind'Amour, Minnesota Wild's Dean Evason, and Florida Panthers' Joel Quenneville are the three finalists for the Jack Adams Award, given annually to the NHL's coach of the year.

Brind'Amour has guided the Hurricanes to three straight postseason berths since becoming the team's head coach, including a Central Division title this past campaign. Carolina went 36-12-8, finishing just two points off a share of the league lead. This is the first time Brind'Amour's been a Jack Adams finalist.

Evason led the Wild to a surprisingly stellar regular season, going 35-16-5 - good enough for third in the West Division. Minnesota finished just seven points back of the Colorado Avalanche and Vegas Golden Knights. This was Evason's first full campaign behind an NHL bench after taking over as interim coach midway through the 2019-20 season.

Few people gave the Panthers much of a chance to make any noise this year, but Quenneville guided the team to its best season in franchise history in terms of points percentage (.705). The Cats finished just one point back of the Canes for first in the Central. Quenneville is seeking his second career Jack Adams Award after winning in 1999-00 with the St. Louis Blues.

Brind'Amour, Evason, Quenneville up for Jack Adams Award
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!

Daily Newsletter

Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox