RBC Heritage: What to know for TOUR's trip to Harbour Town
Streeter Lecka / Getty Images Sport / Getty

With the year's first major in the books, the PGA TOUR rolls along. Up next: the RBC Heritage from Habour Town Golf Links.

A field of 136 players will be in action this week, with most of the biggest names making the short trip from Augusta, Georgia, to Hilton Head, South Carolina. Dustin Johnson and defending champion Webb Simpson headline the group.

When: April 15-18
Where: Hilton Head, South Carolina
Purse: $7.1 million
Winner's prize: $1.278 million

How to watch

Date Channel Time (ET)
Thurs. April 15 Golf Channel 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Fri. April 16 Golf Channel 3-6 p.m.
Sat. April 17 Golf Channel 1-3 p.m.
CBS 3-6 p.m.
Sun. April 18 Golf Channel 1-3 p.m.
CBS 3-6 p.m.

Previous result

Simpson held off a loaded field last year for his first RBC Heritage title. Played in June as the second tournament following the COVID-19 shutdown, the 2020 RBC Heritage set a record for field strength as most players were eager to compete again.

Before that, there were four straight first-time PGA TOUR winners after some wily veterans took home the hardware from 2013-15.

Recent winners

2020: Webb Simpson (-22) over Abraham Ancer
2019: C.T. Pan (-12) over Matt Kuchar
2018: Satoshi Kodaira (-12) in a playoff over Si Woo Kim
2017: Wesley Bryan (-13) over Luke Donald
2016: Branden Grace (-9) over Luke Donald, Russell Knox
2015: Jim Furyk (-18) in a playoff over Kevin Kisner
2014: Matt Kuchar (-11) over Luke Donald
2013: Graeme McDowell (-9) in a playoff over Webb Simpson
2012: Carl Pettersson (-14) over Zach Johnson

The field

Johnson, Simpson, Collin Morikawa, and Patrick Cantlay will represent those ranked in the world's top 10 this week. Bryson DeChambeau was originally slated to play but withdrew Monday.

Masters runner-up and PGA TOUR rookie Will Zalatoris will try to keep his momentum going. Sergio Garcia, Tyrrell Hatton, Matt Fitzpatrick, Lee Westwood, and Shane Lowry represent a strong European contingent in the field.

Featured groups (all times ET)

Group: Matt Kuchar, Branden Grace, Matt Fitzpatrick
Thursday - 8:06 a.m.
Friday - 12:56 p.m.

Group: Dustin Johnson, Will Zalatoris, Billy Horschel
Thursday - 8:17 a.m.
Friday - 1:07 p.m.

Group: Paul Casey, Webb Simpson, Corey Conners
Thursday - 12:56 p.m.
Friday - 8:06 a.m.

Group: Collin Morikawa, Sergio Garcia, Patrick Cantlay
Thursday - 1:07 p.m.
Friday - 8:17 a.m.

The full list of groups and tee times can be found here.

The course

Streeter Lecka / Getty Images Sport / Getty

Harbour Town Golf Links is a 7,121-yard, par-71 venue. The Pete Dye-designed course is one of the shortest on the PGA TOUR and rewards accuracy off the tee over distance. It's considered by many to be a place for target golf: a course where players should be targeting certain spots on the fairway for the best chance to birdie, not hitting the ball as far as possible and going to find it.

The list of past winners suggests strong approach play is the key to success at this event. Some of the shortest hitters on TOUR have found the winner's circle at Harbour Town since 2012.

Betting corner

Dustin Johnson +1100
Webb Simpson +1200
Patrick Cantlay +1500
Collin Morikawa +1800
Daniel Berger +2000
Abraham Ancer +2400
Cameron Smith +2400
Matt Fitzpatrick +2400
Tyrrell Hatton +2400
Paul Casey +2600
Sergio Garcia +3000
Sungjae Im +3000
Will Zalatoris +3400
Corey Conners +3500
Tommy Fleetwood +3500
Brian Harman +4000
Si Woo Kim +4000
Lee Westwood +4500
Matt Kuchar +4500
Shane Lowry +4500

RBC Heritage: What to know for TOUR's trip to Harbour Town
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox