Fleury, Grubauer, Vasilevskiy named Vezina Trophy finalists

Jeff Bottari / National Hockey League / Getty

Marc-Andre Fleury, Philipp Grubauer, and Andrei Vasilevskiy were named the three finalists for the Vezina Trophy, the NHL announced Tuesday.

General managers vote on the award, which is handed out annually to the league's top goaltender.

Fleury finished his season for the Vegas Golden Knights with a .928 save percentage and 1.98 goals against average, and he combined with teammate Robin Lehner to win the William M. Jennings Trophy, which is awarded to the goaltenders who allow the fewest goals during the regular season. The 36-year-old ended the campaign ranked third in wins (26) and shutouts (six) in 36 games, and this is his first time being nominated for the Vezina.

Grubauer helped lead the Colorado Avalanche to their third Presidents' Trophy in franchise history with his superb play this campaign, finishing the regular season ranked second in wins (30), first in shutouts (seven), and second in goals-against average (1.95) alongside a solid .922 save percentage. This is also the first Vezina nomination for the 29-year-old.

A finalist for the fourth straight year, Vasilevskiy turned in yet another outstanding season with the Tampa Bay Lightning. The 26-year-old led the NHL in wins (31) for the fourth straight season, which hasn't been done since Martin Brodeur did it from 2002-03 through 2006-07. Vasilevskiy finished the season with a dazzling .925 save percentage and 2.21 goals-against average.

Fleury, Grubauer, Vasilevskiy named Vezina Trophy finalists
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!

Daily Newsletter

Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox