Skip to content

Messi and Haaland headline 2023 Ballon d'Or nominees, Ronaldo omitted


Cristiano Ronaldo missed out on a Ballon d'Or nomination for the first time since 2003, falling out of France Football's 30-man shortlist for the most prestigious individual honor in world football Wednesday.

Erling Haaland and Lionel Messi are the top contenders for the award after achieving career milestones over the last 12 months. Haaland won a continental treble in his first season with Manchester City, scoring 52 goals while breaking the Premier League's single-season scoring record. Messi powered Argentina to a shootout victory over France in the World Cup final and captured the only major trophy that had eluded him in his career. With six goals and a tournament-high three assists, the 36-year-old also won the Golden Ball as the World Cup's best player.

Messi is vying for a record-extending eighth Ballon d'Or. The winner will be announced during a ceremony on Oct. 30 at the Theatre du Chatelet in Paris.

Kylian Mbappe singlehandedly dragged France back into the aforementioned World Cup final with a historic hat-trick and earned a leading nomination despite failing to win the Champions League with Paris Saint-Germain. Napoli's top scorer, Victor Osimhen, and breakout star Khvicha Kvaratskhelia also feature on the list. Napoli won their first Serie A title in 33 years thanks in large part to Osimhen and Kvaratskhelia, who combined to score 38 goals.

2023 Men's Ballon d'Or nominees

Player Club Country
Josko Gvardiol Manchester City/RB Leipzig Croatia
Andre Onana Manchester United/Inter Milan Cameroon
Karim Benzema Al-Ittihad/Real Madrid France
Jamal Musiala Bayern Munich Germany
Mohamed Salah Liverpool Egypt
Bukayo Saka Arsenal England
Kevin De Bruyne Manchester City Belgium
Jude Bellingham Real Madrid/Borussia Dortmund England
Randal Kolo Muani PSG/Eintracht Frankfurt France
Bernardo Silva Manchester City Portugal
Khvicha Kvaratskhelia Napoli Georgia
Nicolo Barella Inter Milan Italy
Emiliano Martinez Aston Villa Argentina
Ruben Dias Manchester City Portugal
Erling Haaland Manchester City Norway
Martin Odegaard Arsenal Norway
Ilkay Gundogan Barcelona/Manchester City Germany
Yassine Bounou Al-Hilal/Sevilla Morocco
Julian Alvarez Manchester City Argentina
Vinicius Junior Real Madrid Brazil
Rodri Manchester City Spain
Antoine Griezmann Atletico Madrid France
Lionel Messi Inter Miami/PSG Argentina
Lautaro Martinez Inter Milan Argentina
Robert Lewandowski Barcelona Poland
Kim Min-jae Bayern Munich/Napoli South Korea
Luka Modric Real Madrid Croatia
Kylian Mbappe PSG France
Victor Osimhen Napoli Nigeria
Harry Kane Bayern Munich/Tottenham England

2023 Women's Ballon d'Or nominees

First awarded in 2018, the Ballon d'Or Feminin will go to a first-time recipient this year. None of the previous winners have been short-listed, with inaugural recipient Ada Hegerberg and two-time winner Alexia Putellas missing time through injury and U.S. star Megan Rapinoe nearing retirement.

Four players from Spain's Women's World Cup-winning squad - including Aitana Bonmati, the tournament's best player, and Olga Carmona, whose goal won the final - lead the 30-strong list. Spanish players Patricia Guijarro and Mapi Leon are also vying for the award after helping Barcelona win the Women's Champions League.

Player Club Country
Kadidiatou Diani Lyon/PSG France
Linda Caicedo Real Madrid Colombia
Alba Redondo Levante Spain
Rachel Daly Aston Villa England
Fridolina Rolfo Barcelona Sweden
Olga Carmona Real Madrid Spain
Georgia Stanway Bayern Munich England
Amanda Ilestedt Arsenal/PSG Sweden
Hayley Raso Real Madrid/Manchester City Australia
Sophia Smith Portland Thorns United States
Salma Paralluelo Barcelona Spain
Hinata Miyazawa Manchester United/MyNavi Sendai Japan
Lena Oberdorf Wolfsburg Germany
Daphne van Domselaar Aston Villa/Twente Netherlands
Millie Bright Chelsea England
Patricia Guijarro Barcelona Spain
Sam Kerr Chelsea Australia
Ewa Pajor Wolfsburg Poland
Debinha Kansas City Current Brazil
Guro Reiten Chelsea Norway
Aitana Bonmati Barcelona Spain
Alexandra Popp Wolfsburg Germany
Yui Hasegawa Manchester City Japan
Jill Roord Manchester City/Wolfsburg Netherlands
Katie McCabe Arsenal Ireland
Wendie Renard Lyon France
Asisat Oshoala Barcelona Nigeria
Mary Earps Manchester United England
Mapi Leon Barcelona Spain
Khadija Shaw Manchester City Jamaica

Kopa Trophy nominees

Previous winners Gavi and Pedri are up again for the Kopa Trophy.

Awarded to the game's best player under 21, the prize could fall into Gavi or Pedri's hands for a second time. The two midfielders helped Barcelona win La Liga for the first time in the post-Messi era. Jude Bellingham, who's scored five goals for Real Madrid since joining them in a €100-million deal, will likely rival the Spanish duo.

Player Club Country
Jude Bellingham Real Madrid/Borussia Dortmund England
Gavi Barcelona Spain
Jamal Musiala Bayern Munich Germany
Eduardo Camavinga Real Madrid France
Pedri Barcelona Spain
Xavi Simons RB Leipzig/PSV Netherlands
Alejandro Balde Barcelona Spain
Antonio Silva Benfica Portugal
Rasmus Hojlund Manchester United/Atalanta Denmark
Elye Wahi Lens/Montpellier France

Yachine Trophy nominees

Named after iconic goalkeeper Lev Yashin, the Yachine Trophy goes to the game's top netminder. Thibaut Courtois - who won the award in 2022 on the heels of his heroic Champions League performances - earns another nomination. Emiliano Martinez is a leading contender, having made a number of key saves during Argentina's World Cup-winning campaign.

Player Club Country
Yassine Bounou Al-Hilal/Sevilla Morocco
Thibaut Courtois Real Madrid Belgium
Mike Maignan AC Milan France
Marc-Andre ter Stegen Barcelona Germany
Ederson Manchester City Brazil
Emiliano Martinez Aston Villa Argentina
Andre Onana Manchester United/Inter Milan Cameroon
Aaron Ramsdale Arsenal England
Dominik Livakovic Fenerbahce/Dinamo Zagreb Croatia
Brice Samba Lens France

Daily Newsletter

Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox