Bucks' Holiday wins Sportsmanship Award

Ron Hoskins / National Basketball Association / Getty

Milwaukee Bucks guard Jrue Holiday was named the recipient of the Joe Dumars Trophy as the winner of the 2020-21 NBA Sportsmanship Award, the league announced Friday.

The annual distinction is given to the player who "best represents the ideals of sportsmanship on the court."

The 30-year-old finished first among the six finalists, one from each of the league's six divisions. A panel of league executives selected the finalists from a list of 30 nominees, with each NBA team nominating a player.

Holiday garnered 2,752 points in the final round of player voting, beating out two-time winner Kemba Walker from the Boston Celtics (2,474) and Miami Heat big man Bam Adebayo (2,199). Rounding out the voting were Harrison Barnes of the Sacramento Kings, Derrick White of the San Antonio Spurs, and Minnesota Timberwolves wing Josh Okogie.

A 12-year NBA veteran and 2013 All-Star, Holiday was also the co-winner of the NBA Cares Community Assist Award for January alongside Dallas Mavericks guard Josh Richardson. The honor was in recognition of Holiday's and Richardson's efforts to help provide relief for those that the COVID-19 pandemic has affected.

Holiday also pledged a portion of his game checks during the 2019-20 season (totaling $5.3 million) toward a fund that he started with his wife Lauren to assist Black-owned businesses and nonprofits in the New Orleans, Indianapolis, and Los Angeles areas.

The Sportsmanship Award is named after Hall of Famer Joe Dumars, who enjoyed a 14-year NBA career that included six All-Star Game appearances and two titles with the Detroit Pistons.

Bucks' Holiday wins Sportsmanship Award
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!

Daily Newsletter

Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox