Iguodala replaces LeBron as NBPA's 1st VP
Noah Graham / National Basketball Association / Getty

Golden State Warriors sixth man Andre Iguodala was elected first vice president of the National Basketball Players Association's executive committee on Monday during the board of NBA player representatives' winter meeting in the Bahamas.

Iguodala previously served as one of the players' association's vice presidents and replaces Los Angeles Lakers forward LeBron James, whose four-year term as first vice president expired. Houston Rockets point guard Chris Paul remains NBPA president.

"I am honored to be chosen by my peers to step into this position and take on a larger responsibility within the NBPA," Iguodala said in a statement. "I look forward to continuing my work with (NBPA executive director) Michele (Roberts), Chris Paul, and the executive committee to accomplish the best possible outcomes for the union and our future members."

Additionally, Milwaukee Bucks guard Malcolm Brogdon, Boston Celtics wing Jaylen Brown, and Charlotte Hornets center Bismack Biyombo will begin three-year terms as vice presidents. They join holdovers CJ McCollum, Pau Gasol, and Garrett Temple. Anthony Tolliver remains secretary-treasurer.

Both the league and NBPA can opt out of their current collective bargaining agreement in 2022.

Iguodala replaces LeBron as NBPA's 1st VP
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox